A Taste of the Future

Good morning Oakville!Image

Yes, you heard me.  Good morning!

That photo was my view this morning as I stood on the street outside my apartment waiting for the 6 a.m. bus that would begin my journey to Toronto for my first internship interview at Lone Eagle Entertainment.  It’s a good thing I’m a morning person (yes, waking up at 6 a.m. is actually something that I enjoy) because there’ll be a whole lot of this in the near future if my interviews are successful!

It’s been a hectic past couple of weeks and with all the mistreating that I’ve been doing to my body (read: extreme sugar and carb overload), I’m definitely worse for wear because of it and don’t feel as good as I should!

I’ve been doing the good old song and dance of “I’ll eat better tomorrow!”, “no more junk tomorrow!” and, sadly, that tomorrow has been about 5 weeks in the making.  So, as of today, all the pastries and muffins and bags of candy are getting the boot – not permanently by any means as I’ve learned that deprivation isn’t the answer to living a healthy life…but I’m definitely cutting down my intake of those foods significantly.  It’s not going to be easy, especially as a busy, stressed out college student…but it’s a commitment that I have to make if I’d like to see myself not get diagnosed with diabetes in the next 5 years.  Yes, I’ve eaten that much sugar in the past 5 weeks.

Image

 So, how does one begin such a feat?  Well, with no time to make breakfast, I grabbed a fruit and nut bar for my train ride into Toronto.  Taste of Nature is probably one of my favourite snack bars ever and I’m so glad I discovered them two years ago!

With some time to spare, i.e. a full two and a half hours before my interview (cause I’m a crazy person like that), I had a few minutes to chill out, do some research and grab a smoothie from Jugo Juice.  It was the “Raspberry Rush” with raspberries, strawberries, cranberry juice and lowfat yogurt…so yum, so delicious, so berry berry good :)

ImageThe funny part was that I got to drink it while staring directly at the Cinnabon shop inhaling the inviting aroma.  What away to start off my healthy day! :P

Once I was done, I rejoined the insane sea of people on their morning commute and started making my way to the find the Lone Eagle building.  Even though I’ve been up in Canada for two and a half years, there’s always that itty bit of touristy excitement that pops up in me whenever I find myself in downtown Toronto.  It always feels like an adventure, being one tiny person finding my way through the bright lights and the big city.

Image

After finding the building and easing my fears, I still had an extra hour to spare and did some work at a nearby Second Cup with a bowl of apple and almond oatmeal to kill the time.

Image

I actually didn’t have the highest of expectations for this oatmeal…thinking it might have been too sweet or too milky…but it was actually good.  Though it was a tad bit too sweet for my liking, the oats weren’t the processed, instant kind, which scores a happy checkmark in my book.  It was nice and warm too, which is exactly what I needed after being out in the freezing cold.

Then…the interview happened.  And all of the sleep that I lost last night worrying about accidentally sleeping in, missing my train, getting squashed in the sardine can that is rush hour, being late to the interview and then being the most awkward turtle, unable to convey exactly how excited I am to learn in a real television production environment with real industry people, was totally worth it.  It was a great experience and I left with a smile on my face.

So how does one celebrate?

With food…of course!

Image

Before grabbing the train back to Oakville, I stopped off at O&B at TIFF and grabbed a sandwich and some coffee.

Image

Oh yes, hold on to your horses people…because that sandwich was so good, I could barely stop myself from attacking it before managing to take a photo.  It was a tofu sandwich with japanese mayo.  What japanese mayo is, I may never know, but it was undoubtedly one of the most flavourful and delicious sandwiches I’ve ever had.  And they say vegetarian meals are boring…PFFT.

Now, with a successful day behind me and a long night of studying ahead of me, it’s definitely time to sign off and starting doing some work.  The stress never stops, but it’s days like these help to make the challenges of my school life more bearable.

Yay for small victiories!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Taste of the Future

  1. Sounds like an eventful day! HOpe the interview turns out with good outcomes. That sandwich does sound good.

Leave a Reply

