“Hope For Tomorrow”

I hope there will not be too many more posts like this.  This topic here is far too heavy than anything I’d ever want to have on my blog, but I strongly feel like there is some value in posting what I’m about say (as difficult as it is to say it).

As you may know, “A New Sweetness” is about sharing my passion to live a healthier life through fitness and food.  However, what I have not shared is the true reason behind my decision to make a lifestyle change.

So here’s my reason – I am a binge eater and an emotional eater.  I do not have the healthiest relationship with food.   Throughout the last year especially, I have often found myself eating uncontrollably – to the point where my body basically feels ill and wants nothing more than to curl up and go into a food coma.  It happened again tonight, but I am glad to say that something feels slightly different.

After a binge session, I usually go into a crazy hate-my-body-hate-myself mode.  But tonight, instead of beating myself up for my mistakes, I am allowing myself to understand that the worst thing that I can do is not forgive myself and remain trapped in my own negativity.  If I let that happen, I’ll never progress.

I am working really hard to change my ways and I know that I will face challenges and set backs.  But above all,  I need to remember that patience and perseverance are the name of the game because if you want something bad enough, you will fight to achieve it.  And I know that I will.

So I want this post to be a message to anyone out there who struggles with their eating habits or their body image.  I know that it’s a torture.  I know that there are days when you don’t want to live inside your body and mind anymore.  I am there with those thoughts everyday.

I just want to say to you (and myself) – Always focus on what you have accomplished and always remember that success comes from a positive attitude.  And always, always believe that you deserve to feel great about yourself and that you will encounter the day when you don’t need to use food to feed or starve your emotions.


This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Hope For Tomorrow”

  1. Aimee says:

    I think it’s a brave thing to admit your weakness. Even braver to do something to move yourself in the direction of health. That is awesome, and I wish you success on your journey to healthy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

