Look ma! I made dinner!

Tonight I wanted to make something interesting.  Something healthful, but not boring like my regular brussels sprouts and chicken breast kind of dinner.  And after browsing Veronica Noone’s ahhmazing food blog (Roni’s Weigh), I decided to make a variation of her Roasted Red Peppers Stuffed with Cheese and Cucumbers.

This is what I came up with.

I started off with a yellow sweet pepper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Placed half of it to roast in the toaster oven, along with some broccoli (sprinkled with garlic powder, black pepper and paprika).

 

 

 

While that was going, I diced up about a quarter of a large cucumber (it may have been half.  i’m not the best at measuring things)

 

 

Added 2 triangles of Light Laughing Cow Cheese, garlic powder, oregano, black pepper and sea salt.

 

 

 

Then mixed it all up.  I think I was supposed to remove the cucumber skin, but it worked with the recipe nonetheless.

 

 

 

I decided to microwave-cook a small potato at the last minute and epically failed, so I salvaged what I could and ended up with that.  What can I say, I’m not the best cook.

 

 

 

And then, TA DA!  This creation magically appeared on my plate! – Yellow Sweet Pepper Stuffed With Cheese and Cucumber, happily paired with roasted broccoli and that very very sad potato.

 

 

It’s not gourmet, but at least we tried!

 

 

 

 

I mean just look at them.  Don’t those little roasted broccoli florets look delectable?

 

 

 

And I most certainly did enjoy my adventurous attempt at trying something new!

 

 

 

I’m now also totally stocked up with all sorts of interesting eats (some of which I have never cooked on my own before)  thanks to my grocery run this evening.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is it just me or does anyone else find grocery shopping incredibly fun?

 

Especially when it comes to buying these little beauties.

Oh why didn’t I explore the health/organic aisle before!?

 

Anyhow, enough procrastinating on my homework!!!  See you in the morning blog world 🙂

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Look ma! I made dinner!

  1. elvalentino says:

    wow that’s so creative.. i tell you what, if you ever feel like cooking at mine
    your more then welcome I bet you could turn my pantry into a 5 course meal 😛

  2. Gregory says:

    Hmm….do I smell a ‘Patrice & Julia’ blog coming up? (after ‘Julie & Julia’) 🙂
    Yes, cooking can be easy,fun and delicious! I’m proud of you!! :-p
    How did you do your potato? tip: leave skin on. Microwave for 3.5 minutes. You can always do it a bit longer if it’s not cooked enough (for a potato half the size of your fist). When done, cut in half, put some butter on it to melt, then sprinkle some fresh black pepper & sea salt.

    Wanna try an easy microwave squash recipe? Just cut it up in slices (1/2 inch thick) (Don’t peal). Grate some garlic and rub it on together with some fresh grounded black pepper, sea salt. Zap it it for about 3.5 minutes in the microwave or check with a fork until it’s soft enough. Adding a bit of grounded nutmeg works great…or some roasted bell peppers & red onions 🙂

    Bon appetit!

    • Patrice says:

      Oh my word Greg! That squash recipe sounds incredible. And it sounds like something I can actually do!

      Thanks for all the tips! Yeah…I overcooked the potato. It was really small and I put it in the microwave on for too long 😦 I will try what you recommended next time.

      Julie and Julia forever! 🙂

  3. Gregory says:

    I forgot 1 thing: rub on some olive oil or butter before you rub all the other stuff on 🙂

Leave a Reply

