I’m Actually Doing It! – One Month In Review

I’m running a marathon.

Not a real one (though someday I will).  The marathon I’m running right now is my journey to a healthier and happier life and today, I am happy to announce that I’ve reached the one month checkpoint.

Perhaps I have not achieved as much as I imagined I would have by this stage, but there are a few things that I am proud of that I would like to share with you.

1) Sometimes I feel like superwoman. It has not been an easy road, trying to juggle daily workouts with a hectic school schedule, a heavy workload and house chores..but as much as I complain and as tired as I get, I am doing it and I have no desire to stop.

2) I’m a lean, mean fighting machine. Okay, maybe not, but in this last month, I’ve only missed one day of exercise and I’m quite happy with that achievement.  Last semester, I used to think that I didn’t have time to workout.  This semester, I MAKE TIME.

 

3) Hungry? Then eat! (but know when to stop) This continues to be a daily challenge struggle for me, especially when it’s a food that my mind labels as “bad”, but over this last month, I have become more in tune with my body.  I am beginning to learn when my body is hungry and when it’s full and how to respect that.

 

 

 

 

4) I can cook! In this last month, I’ve become a bit more adventurous in the meals that I prepare.  Yes, perhaps cooking a potato in the microwave won’t be my ticket into Le Cordon Bleu, but it’s something I’ve never done before and I’m darn proud of it! 😀

5) Yawn…it’s way past my bedtime. Not too long ago I couldn’t remember a night when I went to bed before 2 a.m.  Now, I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve gone to sleep after 1!  By nature, I am a night owl so keeping a midnight bedtime has been challenging, but I realize that it’s the only way I can keep up with my early morning workouts.

 

And finally….

6) I started a blog and kept writing! In the past, I’ve started and stopped many blogs, but this is the only one that I’ve posted on every day.  Sometimes it’s challenging to post everyday, but the encouragement, support and inspiration I’ve received from friends, family and fellow bloggers has been invaluable.  Knowing that someone out there is reading my words continues to motivate me to keep going, especially when I’m struggling with my sometimes out-of-whack eating habits.

 

 

 

 

 

I still have a lot to work to do on myself, both mentally and physically, and by the end of these next 4 weeks, I hope to will have more achievements to share with you.

My biggest goal for this month?  Let go of the “binge today, be good tomorrow” attitude and learn to enjoy food (yes, even desserts and typically “bad” foods) in moderation.  I know it’s going to be a tough one, but who ever said this would be easy?  Running a marathon never is.  🙂

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m Actually Doing It! – One Month In Review

  1. youknowwhoiam says:

    im proud of u huggieeee 😉 teehee

  2. Maria says:

    Huggy Bear ^^ I’ve been reading your blogs and they have been fascinating. I love how you are keeping a log of your journey in Canada. The pictures are excellent btw :P.

    Keep up the excellent work and keep blogging

    • Patrice says:

      thanks Maria 🙂 It feels great to make progress and document my journey along the way. All the photos are actually taken with my iPhone 😀 way to go technology!

  3. Gregory says:

    Yay! Congrats on making the 1st-month mile stone! And I thought you’d only started this last week LOL! Keep it up! You can do it! Who knows I might not keep up with you when we go jogging or beach if we meet in Summer :-p And we’ll surely have to munch on some bake and shark too 🙂 ….bake and shark=motivation much? 😉

  4. Oscar Lara says:

    congrats on reaching one month of a healthier life style! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

