Life’s so much better when food is not the enemy

I’ve had a bit of a rough weekend foodwise, but luckily I’m back on track again today and my mind is feeling a bit more normal once again.

After my morning workout (today was a treadmill and abs kind of day),  I grabbed an apple before heading off to church.

I guess I must have still been full from all the food I consumed yesterday because this was all I needed to keep me going until my late lunch.

 

Needless to say, I was quite excited to eat lunch – finally creating a wholesome meal was exactly what my body was in desperate need of.

 

I enjoyed half of a butternut squash and on the side, a few handfuls of spinach and 1/2 cup of canned mushrooms sautéed with 1/4 tomato and garlic powder.

 

 

 

Canned mushrooms aren’t the most delicious, but with the right seasonings you can make it work!

 

 

Hunger kicked in not too long after lunch, so I grabbed some celery sticks and 2 tablespoons of almond butter.

 

 

 

 

 

It’s been an entire week since I last had almond butter and I’m going to do my best to make this jar last me 3 weeks.

Dinner was also quite fantastic too.

My chicken breast was seasoned with sea salt, black pepper, loads of garlic powder and my newest exploration – powdered ginger!

 

 

The garlic-ginger chicken sat on top of a basic salad (1/2 cucumber, 1/4 tomato, baby carrots and lettuce) and was accompanied by some blue corn chips.

 

 

All in all, a pretty good day.  Today (after spending almost an entire weekend dealing with food overload) I realize that there are few things better than providing your body with wholesome, satisfying meals…Unfortunately, it sometimes takes a binge to remind me of how great I feel when I respect my body and hunger.  Hopefully I’ll soon be permanently free of these poor eating habits and will continue to love my body in the way that it deserves.

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

