Get Rid Of The Guilt

One of my greater challenges when it comes to maintaining a healthy diet is not feeling guilty when I indulge.

For me, the world seems perfect when all I eat is salad, oatmeal and vegetables. However, I’m human and sometimes PMS demands a bowl of pasta and chocolate chip cookies.

Breakfast: oatmeal with chia seeds and banana. English Breakfast tea on the side.

As I journey deeper into discovering a healthier lifestyle, I’m beginning to understand that it’s all about moderation.  It’s about fully believing that eating a cookie or two doesn’t mean that you’ve failed your day and should feel guilty soothe your guilt with the equivalent of your body weight in snacks.

Lunch: frozen mushroom pizza and steamed veggies (carrots, broccoli, brussels sprouts)

And even if you do happen to go overboard one day, then it’s about realizing that you can stop the overeating/binge in its tracks…And that you are not a failure, but a person fighting a tough battle.

One of today's snacks - chocolate pudding (other snacks included 1 cookie, and some multigrain chips with dip)

It’s obviously easier said than done  – I know because I live with the struggle of moderate eating everyday.

That’s why I want to make it my goal to own every food choice I make – lettuce or ice cream – and to not beat myself up for any decision.  More importantly, I want to learn where to draw the line.

Dinner: (booring, but yumm) 1/2 butternut squash and 1 can tuna

Today has been a generally good day.  I did snack, but I have not binged.  I’ve had one cookie and I won’t let it undo me because when I look at the bigger picture, I know that I’m doing my best to live as balanced as I possibly can – and that’s all that I can ask of myself at this moment.

I am happy.  I am healthy.  I am loving me.

And I am also awesome for getting into the shower for the sake of making movies. 🙂

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

