Hitting the Roadblock

There comes a time in every journey where you hit a roadblock – and I think I’ve hit mine.

It’s been almost two months since I started regularly exercising and trying to eat a more balanced and healthy diet and I’m totally bewildered as to why I’m laying on my bed at 7:16 a.m. writing, moping around instead of getting my sweat on and preparing my food for lunch.

If I’m still so passionate about living a healthy life why aren’t I doing my very best to work for it?

When I figure out how to bust through this rut, I share some tips with you. ย For now though, I am going to drag my sorry butt out of bed and get a workout in before class because somewhere inside my head, a little voice is saying “you can do it!”, “you’ll feel great afterwards!”.

And I will listen to that little voice because perhaps the quietest, kindest self-talk is the best one to listen to, instead of agreeing with the monstrous thoughts yelling “you’re a failure”, “you’re not good enough”, “you suck so just lie there and make your worthlessness a reality”.

On another more awesome note, last night I felt for chinese food and did my best to make another asian inspired dish.

 

I started with some carrots and 3 celery sticks, steamed in the microwave for 6 minutes.

 

 

Then I added an ample sprinkle of ginger, garlic powder and cayenne pepper and 1/2 tbsp of soy sauce.

 

 

 

 

 

After that I steamed some bok choy and 1/2 cup of lima beans.

 

And added all together with a generous serving of noodles, it was fantastic!

 

 

 

Of course, Asian cuisine is never complete without tea, so I had a mug of green tea on the side.

 

 

 

Wishing you all a fantastic Wednesday!
(and if you have any great tips on breaking through mental roadblocks, I’d love to hear them!…I’m in desperate need of motivation!)

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hitting the Roadblock

  1. greg says:

    I can’t take it no more!! I can’t stand reading torturing yourself like that!! :_( :-p

    That’s not a roadblock! That’s your body asking for a break, which is fine. In our community household we take a break each week. A break from everything; to step out of the rhythm of life and just pray, rest, do something we like/hobby etc. Otherwise everything will become none-stop ritual which soon becomes cliche and tiring. SO that said, I would suggest you give your body a break 1 day a week (you choose which one) and ‘pamper’ yourself that day (with an extra snack, or some pedicures or aroma therapy or whatever girly pampering thing you can come up with).
    It’s not that you are not in motion for the day right?….you walk around campus or city for projects? Don’t be too hard on yourself (which i think you sometimes based on what I read).

    And those game consoles are made to have fun and while having fun do exercise….not the other way around. So try to approach it that way and sweating and loosing wait will automatically come….so motive yourself by saying: I’m going to have some fun by playing some games for 30 minutes. (don’t be too strict to do ‘exercising games’ only…there must be different games that are fun but make your body move or work up a sweat!)

    And have you thought of Zumba? You learn dance moves and get an exercise at the same time….see …even more fun!

    Also, you are on a journey which requires you to change your lifestyle. Usually your lifestyle is made up of habits. You are trying to get rid of ‘old habits’. The best way to success is to replace them with new habits; good habits. That takes a long time to adapt to. I’m not a psychologist, but according to some theories it takes at least six consecutive weeks to adopt and adapt to a new habit. You just reached those 6 weeks plus…..you might need some more time than 6 weeks. So be nice to yourself ey ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Don’t give up! I’m enjoying each step of this journey.

    You are doing great! Your courage to even start something like this is amazing…cause you don’t really need it do you? Well…yes maybe you do according to you, but you looked great already!

    Have a great day!

    • greg says:

      weight* not wait ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Patrice says:

      awww Greg. Thanks so much for your support and encouragement. It honestly means so much to me. This is really great advice ๐Ÿ™‚ And yeah, it’s true, I can definitely be a little too hard on myself sometimes – i’m working on that too! I won’t give up because I have amazing people like you lifting me up along the way ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. patricia says:

    Please do not give up – you are doing so great. Do not be so hard on yourself, allow yourself to have some fun.

Leave a Reply

