What Balance Really Means.

I’ve been thinking a lot over these past few days about what a balanced lifestyle really is.

In my mind, I hold this idea that being balanced means eating the healthiest foods with perfect moderation, working out everyday and always radiating cheerfulness and peace. It means that life is perfect with no worries, no trouble, no stress.

But taking a hint from years of ballet dancing throughout my childhood and teenage years, balance is not just about being perfectly still.  Rather, it’s about constantly making small adjustments and learning when to hold on to something for support.

In 2005 (age 14) backstage at a ballet show.

Balance is about staying focused on realistic goals and remembering to focus on the bigger picture.

It’s about understanding that you are human and that a few off-days are nothing but a small blip on the great map of your life’s journey.

Balance is not about perfection.  It’s about embracing and even loving the parts of you that you wish you could change.  It’s about self-acceptance and self-love.

As a college student with a hectic schedule, I often find it very difficult to maintain a healthy diet and lifestyle.  Burn out happens very easily (particularly because I’m highly strung by nature) and I can quickly become disheartened and despondent.  It’s times like these when I really need to reflect on what balance really means to me.

So, what does balance mean to me?

It means finding at least one positive aspect in each moment of my life.

It also means taking care of my body – being mindful about my lifestyle, but not obsessive.

And, above all, it means making peace with myself and my eating habits and being flexible to life’s daily challenges.

"When you make peace with yourself, you make peace with the world." - Maha Ghosananda

What does balance mean to you?

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

