The Art of Being Flexible

As long as I can remember, I’ve always been really tough on myself.  I’ve always tried to achieve perfection and have often held an all-or-nothing perspective.

Well, that’s all changing now and surprisingly, I’m discovering that there is happiness in being kind to myself.

Today I hit the snooze button way too many times and missed my early morning workout.  Knowing that I’d be on a film shoot all day, I was worried that I’d have no motivation to workout when I got back home.  Having woken up late, I also ran out of time to prepare a salad to take with me for lunch.

It’s days like these that give me an opportunity to practice the art of being flexible and though it’s not always easy, it’s a skill well worth developing.

My reason?  I enjoy life so much more when I go with the flow rather than resist it.

 

This morning I packed a little healthy baggie, filled with some baby carrots, a Taste of Nature bar and a Granny Smith apple.

 

 

Amazingly, I ate none of the snacks and instead enjoyed the craft services provided by the director of the shoot.

 

 

 

 

 

Sure it was white bread and deli meat (two items on my ‘once in a blue moon’ list)…but both halves of the turkey and ham sandwiches tasted fantastic.  I enjoyed them and got to share a meal with the other people on set.  I have no regrets.

Luckily, the shoot ended way ahead of schedule and I was back home by 1:30 p.m.  The lazy beast in me wanted nothing but to veg out in front my computer, yet I hit the treadmill and had an amazing run.  It was at a slower pace than usual, but I ran for 25 minutes straight.

I definitely feel out of my element running at 2 in the afternoon, but I’m learning to be flexible enough to fit in exercise where I can.  I know that 5:30 a.m. workouts every single day are neither possible nor healthy (for me, anyway).

As for the rest of my day…I had baby carrots and a Ryevita cracker with hummus and salsa as a post-run/afternoon snack.

 

 

 

 

 

And later made a yummy dinner of a salmon fillet seasoned with basil, rosemary, paprika, garlic and salt (*drool*), mixed veggies (asparagus, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, red and yellow peppers) and a whole corn with a bit of butter spread on it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I announced to myself that the kitchen was closed and avoided the nighttime overeating!

I’ve had quite a few proud moments today 🙂  Moderation and balance at work!

Have a great week ahead everyone 🙂

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of Being Flexible

  1. Gillian says:

    Being flexible is definitely the right attitude! We miss out on so much of life when we are too rigid! I have also been favoring sleep over working out lately and actually feel healthier than ever! Too much exercise aint always a good thing! Keep rockin it! What a yummy healthy looking dinner!

    • Patrice says:

      Yes, sometimes I feel the most balanced when I give my body what it needs – and if I’m exhausted and need a day to rest, then I know it’s ok.

Leave a Reply

