Taste the Rainbow

So as you may have realized from reading my blog, I’ve been going through a really long rough patch with regard to my exercise and nutrition.  I clearly don’t handle stress as well as I would like to…and often the first thing to take a blow after my mental state is how I treat my body.

Well, tomorrow is another day and I look towards it with strong hope that it will be the beginning of a good week.

My plans – wake up and get moving – whether that’s hitting the gym or doing a DVD.  It’s time to get out of my rut and get back into feeling great.

So until I get my life and thoughts in order, I’ll leave you with the wonderful breakfast and lunch I had on Saturday.

This was the first time that I had quinoa for breakfast.

Combined with a few strawberries, 1 chopped pear bartlett and a little under 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt, it was delicious and a really great way to start off my Saturday.


Lunch was equally, if not more fantastic.

It’s my version of a homemade pizza.  For the “crust” I used 1/2 of an Ezekiel 4:9 tortilla.  The tomato sauce is actually salsa and toppings consisted of spinach, red onions, garlic-seasoned chicken breast and a bit of feta cheese.

This was fantastic and I can’t wait to have it again.

On the side I had a citrus salad.

It began with the basic salad ingredients of lettuce, cucumbers and tomatoes.  Then I topped it with a few slices of orange, blood orange and pink grapefruit.

It was so refreshing and totally reminds me of the phrase “Taste the Rainbow”.  Such pretty colours!

Wish me luck this week.  I have a feeling getting back into my fitness groove and saying goodbye to muffins and late night snacking is going to be a bit of challenge.  I’m totally game for it though!

Let’s do this!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taste the Rainbow

  1. Sere says:

    What a colorful food!

    And good luck too! I soo understand you when you talk about handling school stress!

Leave a Reply

