The Jeans Are Tight…Again

Well, I was expecting that much.  After a few weeks of overstuffing my system and gradually slacking off of exercise, I couldn’t possibly expect to lose weight.

^they're not a happy fit anymore!! 😦 ^

Weight loss is actually not a primary focus of mine, but it still sucks when your realize your jeans have become tighter and your “muffin top” has become larger.  We’ll get these jeans to fit comfortably again through healthy nutrition and exercise over the upcoming weeks.

don't ya love my desktop pic?

 

For breakfast this morning I had a bowl of oatmeal (went a little overkill on the cinnamon), a pear bartlett and a cup of green tea while working on my laptop.

 

 

 

I was surprised that I was still craving junk food today, despite spending a couple of weeks literally swimming in it.  I guess something I’ve realized about myself is that the more “junk” I eat, the more I crave it.  Sugar and refined carbs are like a drug to me sometimes!

I managed to power through the junk cravings though and for lunch I had a massive salad with almost an entire can of tuna (sprinkled with garlic powder, cayenne pepper and rosemary).

It’s detox time!

 

I suppose while I’m at it, I’m also trying to cut down on my snacking and improve the quality of my snacks – i.e. reduce muffin and cookie intake.  Anyhow, I’ve given up desserts for Lent, so hopefully that will help me break my sugar addiction.

So for snacks today I enjoyed the absolute best strawberries I’ve ever had in my life, as well as a Kashi Peanut Butter Granola Bar.

 

 

 

 

 

By late evening, I decided to make a trip to the Tim Hortons on campus for a large coffee with milk.

 

I’m really trying to win a bike from the “Roll up the Rim” contest…but no luck just yet.

 

 

I should mention that I’ve also been quite diligent today, working on a pretty big Spanish Culture project.  And when Patrice is working through her thoughts, this is often what happens…

that poor paper doesn't even know what hit it

After completing my project, I was quite hungry for dinner and was so game for jazzing up some canned tomato soup.  Unfortunately (or luckily) before eating it, I noticed that it was almost 2 weeks expired.  I’m a stickler for expiration dates…so I tossed it.  😦

 

Dinner thus became a bowl of butternut squash (1/2 of a medium sized one) and around 2 handfuls of spinach.

 

 

I decided I was still munchy after finishing that bowl, so I had half of a small “365 Everday Value” Roasted Vegetable Vegan Pizza.

The whole wheat crust was slightly doughy (read: DELICIOUS) and though there was no cheese, I didn’t miss it.  I wasn’t crazy about the vegetables, but overall it was a good pizza.  I’d eat it again.

AND finally, to finish off my day’s eats, I had some orange, grapefruit and blood orange slices.

I’m almost halfway through this last cup, so I might be anticipating a trip to Whole Foods to pick up a few more of these in the near future.  I’m smitten with the refreshing quality of citrus!

 

And so concludes the first day of my return to cleaner eating.  I feel like I’m off to a good start nutrition-wise.  Now, it’s time to get some exercise back into the equation!

Hope you enjoyed your Monday and aren’t having too hard of a time adjusting to the time change!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Jeans Are Tight…Again

  1. I crave junkier stuff the more I eat it too. It’s a vicious cycle that can be tough to break. That’s why I knew after pregnancy I had to get back to my healthier eating habits asap. Otherwise it would have been too easy to keep snacking on cookies. You’ll be back to a happy place in no time I bet!

Leave a Reply

