Chunky Monkey Happiness

So in yesterday’s post, I talked about this little “experiment” that I’m doing with myself…where I’m taking a break from all of my food rules and simply not obsessing over what I eat.

It’s been about 3 days in and even though physically I feel a bit like a chunky monkey, mentally, I feel great.   I’ve taken all the pressure off and surprisingly, the lack of “control” has made getting through the day a lot easier.

Just so you know, I haven’t completely lost my marbles and gone all “let’s eat some mcDonald’s for breakfast, lunch and dinner” everyday!  I’m still getting my fair share of fruits and vegetables and being sensible about my food choices.  What’s different is that I’m not panicking about “fattening” foods and neurotic portion control.  I’m doing my best to allow myself to enjoy life.

 

 

 

 

 

Brunch was a can of tuna with greek yogurt (the mayo replacement), 2 Wasa crackers, a couple of baby carrots, 1/2 of a cucumber and lettuce.  It was great and kept me filled for a couple of hours.

Throughout today, I grabbed a couple of snacks – a banana, a muffin and almonds.

And for dinner I had 1/2 of a medium sized butternut squash with some roasted tomatoes, mushrooms and broccoli.

 

 

 

 

 

I even bit the bullet and worked out this morning after about a week of extreme laziness.  I kept it pretty light and simple, but getting a sweat session in left me feeling quite accomplished all day.

 

This is me and the workout DVD this morning.

I swear I’m not pointing at their butts…         just bad timing with the camera!

 

 

Now it’s time to get into another busy weekend before another busy week comes along! Hope you have a great one yourself and don’t forget to enjoy life! 🙂

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chunky Monkey Happiness

  1. Michael Cory says:

    You’re making me feel guilty about my on eating improprieties!!! Good job- keep it up. Too much stress is evil!

  2. It’s always better to not stress food. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

