Weekend Recap: The Healthy Things

Everyday, I try to work towards becoming a healthier and happier me.  Sometimes, I’m not always successful, but it never ceases to amaze me how fantastic I feel even after only one day of sensible eating.

This weekend wasn’t perfect, but I did do a few healthy things that I’m proud of.

I stayed hydrated.

Filling up on H2O has never really been troublesome for me.  I’m used to drinking a lot of water…but sometimes when things get hectic, I tend to ignore my thirst and snack instead.  Then I end up super thirsty and uncomfortably full…never a good combo.

 

I ate something I generally consider “bad” and didn’t let it undo my day.

 

 

 

 

I often find that when I eat something generally considered “fattening” or “bad”, I tend to feel like I’ve blown my day and that I might as well eat any other junk I can get my hands on.

I’m working to get to the point where I can stop labelling food and learn to enjoy everything in moderation (except vegetables, of course!).

Having said that, Sunday lunch wasn’t successful…and I devoured more lasagne than two people would want to eat.

I can’t win every battle right now, but I can choose to learn from each mistake.  – so in that respect, I’m proud of myself.

 

I walked on Saturday…a lot.

I’m trying my best to get in as much physical activity as I can, especially since real exercise has taken a bit of a backseat in my life.  Even though I lazed around most of Sunday doing homework, Saturday was an active day spent wandering around the Royal Ontario Museum, taking in some downtown TO by foot and taking a 20 minute walk back to my campus residence at the end of the day.

 

I tried something new.

And I’m now totally and completely in love.

My fridge is currently quite empty, so without my go-to breakfast of oatmeal with a banana, I got a bit adventurous (for my level of cooking haha).

The quinoa was really simple, but the warmed apple sprinkled with cinnamon absolutely stole the show.

I really can’t wait to have this again.

 

And that’s my weekend recap!  Wish me luck this week as things are about to get frighteningly hectic!

How did you spend your weekend?  Did you do anything that you’re proud of?

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Recap: The Healthy Things

  1. Diary of a Fitness Amateur says:

    That quinoa looks yummy! This weekend I had a few regrets with my dessert habits but I need to take your advice and not let it bother me. I just need to get back into the gym 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Patrice says:

      aww, that means a lot to me. 🙂 i always try to tell myself, it’s remembering that the most important thing is not falling off the wagon, but how quickly you can get back on it.

Leave a Reply

