Chinese food and sweet treats – must mean mama’s in town!

It’s been four months since I last saw her in person and today, she finally arrived in Canada and visited me at school!

I waited for hours like a little kid hoping to get a glimpse of Santa Claus flying by on Christmas Eve…and after many buses came and went, her bus finally arrived.

(confession: I took so many pictures of buses today that when it was actually the right bus, I practically cut it out of frame!!)

It was so great to finally see my mum in person and she looks absolutely wonderful!!

Like me, my mum has begun making healthier food and exercise choices…and she has been really successful.  She’s doing things to healthy way and is really taking care of herself.

Kudos to you mum.  Your hard work is really paying off and I’m so proud of you. 🙂

(once i’m on vacation, you have to give me a good schooling in nutrition and exercise!!)

Of course, the best part of having your mum visit you is FOOD FOOD FOOD!

She brought Chinese food galore…from bok choy (DELICIOUS) to congee soup and roasted pork.

It all tasted so amazing and as a hungry college student with a broken microwave, I couldn’t have been happier.

She even surprised me with one of my favourite local sweet treats brought all the way from home in Trinidad.

Goolab Jamoon is basically an Indian dessert that tastes like heaven.  It’s made with a creamy dough that is deep fried and then drizzled with a sugar syrup.

In a perfect world, it would have zero calories, but since I haven’t had any of my home country’s cuisine in four months, it was definitely worth the splurge. 🙂

What a great day it’s been!

Now, it’s time to return to reality (with a couple of final exams to complete)…but only for a little while because the end of semester countdown now stands at 2 DAYS!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chinese food and sweet treats – must mean mama’s in town!

  1. sjlopez says:

    Aw, yay! This made me smile so much! I haven’t seen your mom in forever either and she really does look awesome! =) And now you have me craving some goolab jamoon too, haha! Oh well! Can’t wait to see you in a few weeks!

  2. Wai Li says:

    Good luck in your exams!

Leave a Reply

