Homecooked Happiness

Whoa, is it Friday already?!  I guess you really do lose track of time when you’re on vacation!

I was still super duper hungry when I woke up this morning (I swear, it’s like I swallowed a hungry little person!) so I dived right in to a mouth-watering bowl of fruit salad.

In the mix was kiwi, orange, apple, pear and papaya, or as we say in Trinidad, paw paw.

It was a fantastic and refreshing way to start off my day and I followed it up with some oatmeal with almond milk.

I won’t lie though, I’ve been a complete couch potato this week, snacking, lazing around in my PJs until 3 p.m., glued to the television and playing Sims 3 on my computer.  Really attractive, I know.  Next week I’m definitely going to have to push myself to be more physically active before my butt print embeds itself into the cushions.

For lunch, my mum made a spinach, mushroom and swiss/colby cheese sub.

Hands down, it was the best sandwich that I’ve hand in months.  Subway’s got nothing on my mum’s cooking!  The flavour combination of the mushrooms, spinach and cheeses was just phenomenal.  I honestly could have eaten it forever.

I also had a small spoonful of homemade hummus on the side.  We still have a bit of experimenting to do, but considering we’re first timer hummus cooks, it was pretty decent.

Total laziness threatened to take over my afternoon, but by some miracle, I managed to get my workout clothes on, deck myself out with my awesome fuel belt and hit the road for a 30 minute jog.  It’s been great getting back into outdoor running…except when other runners overtake me.  Someone tell me I’m not the only one with this competitive need to beat every other runner on the road!

Nevertheless, I came back home to an amazing dinner featuring some more local food.

 I know, you’re probably thinking, what on earth is she eating?

Well, before your imagination runs wild trying to figure out what that green goo in the upper left of the photo is, I’ll explain.

It’s what we call callaloo and it’s sort of like a soup mostly made with the leaf of the root vegetable, dasheen, pumpkin and okra.  It’s the “Trini” version of the Green Monster and, appearance aside, it’s super tasty and nutritious!

For the main meal, I had a large piece of fried carite fish, “coo coo” (another local delicacy made from cornmeal and okra…it’s usually eaten with the callaloo) and melongene pie (kind of like an eggplant casserole).

It’s homecookin’ happiness in a bowl!!

Now it’s time to head to bed.  I have an insane 1 a.m. wake-up time tomorrow as I’ll be documenting and witnessing an ultra marathon.  The runners will be making a journey of 31 miles and I’ve been given the wonderful privilege of photographing and capturing this monumental moment for them.

Good night!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homecooked Happiness

  1. Glad you are having such a good time! The R&R sounds really nice actually. Although I know I still love some activity in there too.

    That bowl of fruit looks SO good!

  2. 1:00 a.m. and wakeup call do not belong in the same sentence!!

    However, I hope you have fun! And I agree with Tina – the fruit looks delicious:)

Leave a Reply

