College Kid Can Cook Is Back!

So, with a long hiatus and a new blog name, I’m back and ready for some blogging!

I’ve had way too many “oh, I should blog about that!” moments over the last 4 months, so I’m definitely glad to be writing and posting (and looking like a crazy person taking pictures of her food from various angles) again!

Last night, “college kid can cook” Patrice may have actually outdone herself.

Shrimp pasta with corn and a happy serving of brussels sprouts and asparagus.

Since my mum bought me a single burner for my dorm room (which, by the way, I’m technically not supposed to have…), I’ve been getting a little more adventurous in discovering the wonderful world of cooking.  Who knew creating your own meals could be this fun and fulfilling!

Over the last 2 weeks, I’ve made a quinoa and mushroom dish, which I enjoyed with a side of mixed veggies, to satisfy my inner vegetarian.

not the most beautiful...but it was my first attempt at a big meal and was taken using beautiful cellphone photography.

And later on, a mushroom and salmon pasta with tomatoes sauteed in basil, onion and garlic and brussels sprouts added to the mix.  Even though the salmon and mushrooms were from a can, for a college kid standard, I’d say this meal is pretty darn good!

quite an improvement, I'd say!

Unfortunately, the end result of most of my kitchen escapades is this…

a tiny sink, with more dishes than it can handle!

I’m still working with my scientist team on building a dishwashing robot, but for now, 15 minutes spent by the sink scrubbing is my reward for cooking like a grown-up.  It’s totally worth it though and I definitely don’t plan on giving this new hobby up…

Unless of course I keep patronizing the Thai Express in my cafeteria…

Spicy pad thai in the cafeteria while researching my current documentary project

Have a happy Thursday!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to College Kid Can Cook Is Back!

  1. sjlopez says:

    Looks sooooo good! *drool* You’re totally making me want to blog, but I don’t know what I’d blog about! If I think of something, I’ll let you know. In the meantime, yay for new blog posts! You know I like to maco your business and whatnot.

Leave a Reply

