Take Out Friday and French Toastmeal!

Friday nights are going out nights……and by “going out” I mean walking across the road to the Irish pub, ordering take-out, returning to my dorm room, getting into my pyjamas and watching 30 Rock episodes while I eat.  (I told you I was quite the party animal)

What I do while people are partying outside my door.

This week I decided to go with Monaghan’s delicious Nachos Grande with Chilli.

cheesy nachos topped with tomatoes, beans, chilli. salsa, jalapenos and sour cream on the side!

Keeping with my efforts to eat healthier, but still happily entertain my indulgences, I loaded up half the plate with veggies and the other half with Nachos.  Ok fine…I may have spread out the vegetables on the plate to make it seem like I was eating more greens than chips…but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

Nummy nachos with brussels sprouts and cauliflower on the side

Two…(or maybe three) servings of extra Nachos later, I was a bit overstuffed but nevertheless happy.

I love doing Take Out Friday.  It’s kind of been an unspoken tradition for most of my life and now I’m finally putting a name to it.

As for breakfast adventures this morning…I was still pretty full from my nighttime nacho noshing, but once hunger hit I decided that Saturday meant bumping up my oatmeal from drab to fab.  So I hit up the interweb and stumbled upon The Edible Perspective’s French Toast Oats recipe.

ingredients for the french toastmeal

I definitely didn’t do her recipe justice…partly because I was missing three key ingredients – namely, ground flax meal, maple syrup and walnuts…but I did my best and it turned out great!

stirring with a very tiny spoon because i'm that "logical"

My version of the “french toastmeal” kind of reminded me of pancake batter.  It took me back to the days of mum flipping pancakes while I licked batter off the spoon.  It was way better than my regular oatmeal…and I don’t ever want to go back!!

french toastmeal topped with chopped almonds 🙂

Thanks for a moment of joy in my Saturday, Ashley!

Hope your Saturday has been a good one!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take Out Friday and French Toastmeal!

  1. I love your Friday routine! Sounds like ours. We always do Subway out and then catch up with DVR as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

