Enjoy Your Salad and Your Cheeseburger

Oh, Hi there!  So nice to see you!

took this photo while blogging because i was so happy to finally be posting something!

Honestly, it really is nice to “see” you because I’ve been living under the heavy rock of college stress-induced depression this week.  Oh documentary film, if you don’t break me by the end of these 2 years, you’ll certainly make me stronger.

I’m out of that funk now (thank God!) but unfortunately without much to say, other than I survived my mental madness and can smile once again!

Oh…and that on Tuesday night, I saw Epic Meal Time live on my campus.

illegal photo...we weren't supposed to record them! *rebel*

And bacon strips.  Yeah you know those guys.

I’ll forever admire their great video editing skills on their youtube videos, but with all due respect to these guys and their diehard fans, this show was honestly the biggest waste of food I’ve ever seen.  (I can hear Harley Morenstein cussing me across cyberspace as I type).

But seriously, who in their right mind would want to scarf down a gigantic piece of pig drenched in Jack Daniels and stuffed with McDonald’s burgers wrapped in bacon while spewing the “f” and “b” word everywhere.

Call me a prude, call me old fashioned, but there is something a bit obscene about it all….Especially when the pig’s head came flying in my direction and landed by my feet.  Like ’em or leave ’em, it’s just my opinion.

If there is one thing that they did inspire though…it was for me to quit my junk food rampage this week and get back to the beauty of wholesome foods.

ruby red grapefruit...my new love.

As I become more and more passionate about nurturing a healthy relationship with food, I’ve begun to explore the boundaries of “healthy” foods and no longer let myself be confined to the bland world of oats and water, lettuce and chicken breast.

salad with avocado, corn and black beans. yum much!?

One of the true joys of eating a diet rich in wholesome foods is the excitement, as I’m constantly on a quest to discover new recipes and new ingredients.  I mean, honestly, it’s kind of hard to get bored with oatmeal that reminds you of apple pie…and let’s face it, real food just makes for better photographs!

apple pie oatmeal in all its deliciousness

Don’t get me wrong, I still do eat (and enjoy) my fair share of “less wholesome” foods and snacks…and being as imperfect as a human, I do struggle with over-indulgence and post-snack guilt.  But healthy eating is so much more than an equation of calories in, calories out…white bread or whole wheat bread…

hot dog, cheeseburger and fries with my roomie at the ROM

It’s the ultimate balance of eating for your health and eating for your soul.  And loving every bite along the way.

So, my friends, yes…do eat your salads and run your miles, but never ever forget to enjoy your cheeseburger…whatever “your cheeseburger” may be.

 You only live once, after all.

How do you define healthy eating?

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

