And We’re Back.

A new week…a new beginning and I’m wearing my sports bra and exercise top in hopes that it’ll be the extra push I need to get a workout in tonight.

life's little surprises...fitting into a top I was avoiding wearing because of my little stress weight gain.

These past couple of weeks have been insane…from the filming of my public service announcement to the pre-production of this semester’s documentary short and dealing with every other demanding assignment in between, I’ve been to the edge of insanity and back a countless number of times.

I’m feeling much more stable now…and no longer wallowing in the depths of depression, sitting in my dark room, bawling and wondering if the hell would ever end (because, yes, that’s just how bad it got).  But 3 weeks of madness has inevitably left me with depleted energy resources and some extra weight that I’m definitely not comfortable with.

Being thin…losing weight…looking hot…whatever.  It’s honestly not the centre of my universe…nor do I even have the time to make those a priority.  I’m more concerned with the quality of my food intake and being fit for the sake of my health and the future marathons and adventure races that I hope to take part in.

I just want to feel good.  I just want to feel healthy and I know that filling myself up on an excess of processed foods…and everything else I set out to avoid this school year (namely bagels and muffins) certainly doesn’t help my cause.

That’s why I’m looking at this week as a fresh start for me.  I’m not aiming to be perfect (at least I will write that as a reminder to myself)…I’m just aiming to gradually get myself back on track by tapering off on the refined sugar and late-night eating and doing more things to keep my mental health in check…like getting some light workouts in and taking impromptu walks in the woods on sunny Sunday mornings…

the woods in autumn...always beautiful

And so with all those tools in place, I am looking forward to smiling more, breathing easier and freaking out a whole lot less as I journey through the next 7 weeks before winter break.

By the way, if for some reason you’ve actually managed to make it through this less than stellar blog post, first of all, thank you for making my words at least have some purpose…and secondly, good luck this week. 🙂  Whatever you’re struggling with, wherever you are in your journey of life, I can promise you that it is all worth it and that you will survive.  Trust me…if I’ve survived the mental chaos of these last couple of weeks, you will make it through too!

Happy Monday!

This entry was posted in Fitness and Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And We’re Back.

  1. sjlopez says:

    You’re such an inspiration! It’s okay to struggle and feel down and defeated. The important thing is getting back up and facing the world, and no matter how many times things might get you down you always manage to pull through. I’m so happy to have you as one of my best friends! =) Good luck with everything you have to do this week as well!

Leave a Reply

